Sri Lanka : Crests & Mottoes of Leading Catholic Schools in Sri Lanka

Can you name the schools? 🙂



From: Eric Motha
Sent: Thursday, August 22, 2019, 10:33:28 PM MDT
Subject: Fw: Invitation
Dear member,

The invitation is a grateful acknowledgment by Bro.Visitor and the Brothers Community in Sri Lanka to all our members who have generously contributed to the Retired Brothers Fund over the years.  

—– Forwarded Message —–
From: Lanka Lasalle
To: Eric Motha
Sent: Wed Aug 21 2019 03:57:21 GMT-0700 (Pacific Standard Time)
Subject: Invitation

Dear Mr. Eric Motha,
Greetings from Provincialate!
We write to inform you that the Celebrations of Sesquicentennial Anniversary of the presence of the De La Salle Brothers in Sri Lanka and the Tercentennial Death Anniversary of St. John Baptist De La Salle will be held on 1st September 2019.
In recognition of your goodwill towards the De La Salle Brothers we have attached herewith the official invitation.
Warm regards
Bro. Gurusinghe

Provincialate Secretariat

No. 130, De La Salle Street,

Mutwal, Colombo – 01500,


Tel : +94 11 2 523 988     

Fax : +94 11 2 522 442

Sesquicentennial Anniversary Invitation.pdf

Mr. J. F. Jegarajasingham (Retired Teacher of SBC)

—– Forwarded Message —–
From: Darrel Ludowyke
Sent: Sun Jul 14 2019 20:53:16 GMT-0700 (Pacific Standard Time)
Subject: Fwd: Obituary – Mr. J. F. Jegarajasingham (Retired Teacher of SBC) – Beloved father of Maurice and Cassian
Funeral arrangements –
The remains will lie at 24/2 Mayfied Lane, Kotahena (adjacent to Kotahena CMC Swimming Pool) on Friday 19 July from 4 pm. Cortege leaves for General Cemetry Kanatte (RC Section) on Saturday 20 July at 4 pm.
Mayfield Ln
Colombo 01300

———- Forwarded message ———
From: Darrel Ludowyke 
Date: Sat, Jul 13, 2019 at 4:47 PM
Subject: Obituary – Mr. J. F. Jegarajasingham (Retired Teacher of SBC) – Beloved father of Maurice and Cassian

Dear Friends,

Sad to inform the demise of Mr. J. F. Jegarajasingham (Retired Teacher of SBC), passed away peacefully this morning after a brief illness.

Funeral arrangements will be notified later.
Late Jegarajasingham, hailed from Kaytes, Jaffna and was a much respected senior English teacher who served for many many years at college until his retirement. Was the editor of the college magazine (Centenary and the Millennium magazine) 

May his soul and the souls of all the faithful departed, through the mercy of God, rest in peace, Amen.


St. Benedict’s College Old Boys’ Union AGM

From: Darrel Ludowyke

Sent: Mon Jul 01 2019 00:11:51 GMT-0700 (Pacific Standard Time)

Subject: St. Benedict’s College Old Boys’ Union AGM

The 115th Annual General Meeting of St. Benedict’s College Old Boys’ Union was held on Sunday, June 30 at the Collage Hall. The proceedings began with Holy Mass, celebrated by Old Benedictine Priest Rev. Fr. Malcolm Candappa.

The Council of Management for 2019-2020
Patron – Rev. Dr. Malcolm Cardinal Ranjith – Archbishop of Colombo (Ex Officio)
Vice Patrons – Most Reverend Dr. Emmanuel Fernando – Bishop of Mannar, Rev. Bro. Christy Croos – Provincial Visitor, M/s Elmo Perera, Eric Motha, Gamini Kanangara, Dudley Thambinayagam, Gamini Edirisinghe, Nimal Perera, Neil De Silva, Melville Perera and Jeyam Perumal
President – Rev. Bro. Ernest Tarcisius (Director SBC, Ex Officio)
Vice Presidents – Rev. Bro. Yohan Soysa (Sub Director – SBC, Ex Officio), M/s Lalith Madapulli, Emil Kronemberg, Gratien Fernando, Darrel Ludowyke, Anton Leon and Ashan Stanislaus
Hon General Secretary – Priyal Perera
Hon Treasurer – Melvin Pollocks
Hon Asst Gen Secretary – Eranga Morais
Hon Asst Treasurer – Beonest Fernando
Hon Asst Sec Membership – Stephen Corera
Hon Asst Sec Sports – Peter De Croos
Hon Asst Sec Social – Roshan Samaratunga
Asst Sec Overseas – George Ranasinghe

Council Members – M/s Maurice Jegarajasingham, (Secretary – DF – Ex Officio), Gen. Channa Gunathilaka, (President – OBSC – Ex Officio), Kenneth Dabrera, Patrick Rodrigo, Loxley Dharmaratne, Rohan Dilip Perera, T. Valentine, Chandra Bastian, Duminda Perera, Kennedy Michael, Dharshaka Fernando, Lucian Siriwardane, Denuka Perera, Aruna Fernando, Shivanka Samarathunga, Sandeep Fernando, Gerald Paldano, Shehan Zoysa, P. Giridaran, Fitzroy Motha, Vivian Saverymuthapulle, Menaka Perera, Neil Rasaiah and Marlon Perera
Hon Auditor – M/S Nihal Hettiarachchi & Company -Chartered Accountants.


Old Bens-Upcoming events

From: Eric Motha

Sent: Saturday, May 11, 2019, 11:18:48 AM MDT
Subject: Old Bens-Upcoming events

Sunday June 23,2019 – 23rd Annual General Meeting followed by Fellowship/Dinner -Notice of the AGM,Annual Report and Audited Financial Statement will be mailed shortly.

Venue: Club House of Peter & Suzanne Vethanayagam: 13918 -58th Avenue,Surrey ,BC V3X 3N8 (Off King George)- 7-00pm

Sunday July 07,2019 – 7th Annual Bens Golf Tournament-tee off 11.03am
Fraserglen Golf Course, 36036 South Parallel Road,Abbotsford,BC V3G 2K4
Fellowship,Awards/Lunch – Residence of Namal & Chandani Hettiaratchi-Langley,BC

Saturday November 30,2019 -“DOOR IS OPEN”(Mother Teresa) Project #10 -Eastside Vancouver,BC



Please diarise the above dates and be a participant-thanks.

Eric Motha